Reviews and Media

Latest Reviews

This just in on TripAdvisor (23/07/2021): “Fabulous food and friendly service! We have just discovered another gem! Just 15 minutes from our door. We had heard good reports and decided to visit for the first time with a friend. We were welcomed and helpfully given a choice of table as there was a large party dining. By chance we all ordered different starters and different mains, so we really had an excellent overview of the offering. What was obvious very early on was that the kitchen knew their food. Knew their combinations. For me, the flavours were those of a quality French bistro. It isn’t all white tablecloths and sterile here – this had more of the atmosphere of a traditional pub where quality food is served, beautifully presented. No gammon and chips here though – instead it was the likes of warm duck salad, salmon two ways, lamb rump and aged beef. I am not really a dessert person, but crème brulée always tempts me. Here is the classic, unadulterated French version. Wide low bowl, crispy caramelised sugar on top. Perfection! Will we be back? YES! And we will recommend to our guests as well…

Braving the Bank Holiday Weather

We reopened at the start of May, and it was lovely to see you all, even if the weather was less than lovely!

Estrella Damm” Gastropub Awards 2021

We are delighted to announce that for the first time we are featured in the “Estrella Damm” Gastropub Awards list. Although we did not make it into the top 50 this time, we are pleased to be included just outside the top 50. These awards are voted for by top foodies and hospitality experts, including food writers, executive chefs, celebrity chefs and top hospitality industry chefs. The voting criteria ensures the list really is decided by the industry. See for yourself what they had to say about the Hovingham Inn here.

tripadvisor logoJuly 2021: 61 five-star reviews to date on TripAdvisor

This from ‘Quiggers81’: “We live relatively locally and attempted to go the Hovingham Inn back in March. Due to Covid, we had to cancel. Tonight and then last month, we finally made our first visit. We are already certain regulars! The Sunday lunch is great quality – with top quality meat and amazing gravy. We have also had the supper menu. The steak and chips was great quality and the fish and risotto was superb. This is a much better restaurant than your typical country pub – the food is well worth the extra investment.” For more TripAdvisor reviews, or to leave your own review, please follow this link!

August 2020: Five-star reviews to date on Harden’s

This from ‘Gary S’: “”This was my wife and myself’s first visit to the Hovingham’s for Sunday lunch, it most certainly won’t be the last, If there is a better Sunday lunch in East/ North Yorkshire we are yet to find it.” For more Harden’s reviews, or to leave your own, please follow this link!

Yorkshire_Post_Logo_2014_RGB01/06/2020 – YORKSHIRE POST “Chef profile – Richard Johns of the Hovingham Inn”

“No one ever claimed running a small independent restaurant was easy, but few can have had quite such a bumpy ride as chef Richard Johns and his wife Lindsey who last July took on the Hovingham Inn, in Hovingham, North Yorkshire. To read the complete article, please follow this link.

Times14/02/2020 – THE TIMES “The 30 Best Places for a Perfect Pub Lunch”

“The lunch menu is full of classic and comforting dishes with a few modern twists here and there, including home-made sausage roll with crisp black-pudding bonbons, and roast free-range chicken with creamed wild mushrooms and triple-cooked chips.” To read the full article, follow this link (subscription only).

Yorkshire Living Logo03/2020 – YORKSHIRE LIVING “Much loved classics with a twist”

“The Hovingham is the opportunity we have been waiting for, for such a long time, having long believed our style and personalities are very well suited to a pub environment. We are very excited about the future here and offer something that is a little bit different to our customers.” To read the full article, please follow this link.

The Press23/11/2019 – YORK PRESS “A hearty Home from Home”

“The food was every bit the equal of what you’d get in a top York restaurant – and the setting and beaming welcome were second to none. A real winner.” To read the full article, please follow this link.

Yorkshire_Post_Logo_2014_RGB28/09/2019 – YORKSHIRE POST “Straightforward food [done] very well” 90% overall ranking

“There’s only a good handful of chefs in Yorkshire who have stood the test of time and all the changing fads and fancies yet continue to cook great food, food that people want to eat. It is an even rarer gem if the chef has their partner supporting them out front, a role key to the success of any restaurant business.” To read the complete article, please follow this link.

Gazette & Herald logo23/08/2019 – GAZETTE & HERALD “Hovingham Inn, formerly Malt Shovel opens with new look”

A pub has reopened with a new name following a major refurbishment. The Hovingham Inn, formerly known as the Malt Shovel, in Hovingham, has undergone a seven-month refurbishment and was reopened by Sir William and Lady Marie-Noelle Worsley of Hovingham Estates.” To read the complete article, please follow this link.

The staff canteen logo21/08/2019 – THE STAFF CANTEEN “How to Open Your Own Restaurant”

“Opening a restaurant is tough. Anyone who has done it will tell you that. But what happens once you’re open? How do you set your business up for the long haul? We asked industry veterans Simon Bonwick, Richard Johns, Michel Roux Jr and Sat Bains how they’ve managed to keep their restaurants open for as long as they have – and what they’ve learnt along the way.” To read the complete article, please follow this link. Slide1

 

 

14/08/2019 – YORK PRESS “Hovingham Pub reopens after £500k makeover”

“A pub near York has reopened with a new name following a significant refurbishment. The Hovingham Inn, formerly known as the Malt Shovel, in Main Street, the Ryedale village of Hovingham has undergone a seven-month refurbishment and was reopened last month by Sir William and Lady Marie-Noelle Worsley of Hovingham Estates.” To read the complete article, please follow this link.

BigHospitality-logo05/08/2019 – BIG HOSPITALITY “Richard and Lindsey Johns open The Hovingham Inn pub”

“Restaurateurs Richard and Lindsey Johns have opened their latest gastropub project, The Hovingham Inn, in north Yorkshire.” To read the complete article, please follow this link.